Jimi Hendrix

In Stock
Usually ships within 2 days

1,998 points

Want a better price? Log In to see if there’s a deal.


Genre: Rock & Pop
Artist/Group Name: Jimi Hendrix
Release Date: 11/16/2010
Original Release Date: 1998
Length of CD: 111:52
Label: Experience Hendrix
# of Discs: 3
Total Time: 111:52

Disc 1
1. Foxey Lady
2. Alexis Korner Introduction
3. Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window?
4. Rhythm and Blues World Service
5. (I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
6. Traveling with the Experience
7. Driving South
8. Fire
9. Little Miss Lover
10. Introducing the Experience
11. Burning of the Midnight Lamp, The
12. Catfish Blues
13. Stone Free
14. Love or Confusion
15. Hey Joe
16. Hound Dog
17. Driving South
18. Hear My Train a Comin'

Disc 2
1. Purple Haze
2. Killing Floor
3. Radio One
4. Wait Until Tomorrow
5. Day Tripper
6. Spanish Castle Magic
7. Jammin'
8. I Was Made to Love Her
9. Foxey Lady - (alternate take)
10. Brand New Sound, A
11. Hey Joe - (alternate take)
12. Manic Depression [BBC Television]
13. Driving South - (alternate take)
14. Hear My Train a Comin' - (alternate take)
15. Happening for Lulu, A
16. Voodoo Child (Slight Return) [BBC Television]
17. Lulu Introduction
18. Hey Joe [BBC Television]
19. Sunshine of Your Love [BBC Television]
20. Burning of the Midnight Lamp, The

Disc 3
1. BBC Sessions [DVD Documentary]

Release Notes

The Jimi Hendrix Experience: Jimi Hendrix (guitar, vocals); Noel Redding (bass, background vocals); Mitch Mitchell (drums, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Alexis Korner (slide guitar); Stevie Wonder (drums).
Producers include: Bill Bebb, Jeff Griffin, Bernie Andrews.
Compilation producer: Janie Hendrix, Eddie Kramer, John McDermott.
Recorded between February 13 and December 15, 1967 and on January 4, 1969. Includes liner notes by David Sinclair.
Personnel: Jimi Hendrix (vocals, guitar); Mitch Mitchell (drums, background vocals); Noel Redding (background vocals).
Liner Note Authors: John McDermott ; David Sinclair.
Recording information: 02/13/1967-01/04/1969.
Photographers: Bill Zygmant; Ray Stevenson; Dezo Hoffman; Rex Features; Joel Elkins; David Magnus; Bruce Fleming; Tony Glae.
Right around the same time the Hendrix juggernaut started snowballing in England, the BBC was in the midst of setting up Radio 1, an entity dedicated to broadcasting pop music. Spearheaded by adventurous DJs such as John Peel and Alexis Korner, Radio 1 provided an outlet for the creative outpouring of the newly arrived Hendrix along with countless others. Since many BBC sessions fell halfway between being a studio recording and a live performance, BBC SESSIONS shows off some of Hendrix's most spontaneous and creative outbursts. Along with the core of his catalog being showcased ("Purple Haze," "Fire"), Hendrix's fun-loving side shines through. Some of these moments include his wreaking havoc on Lulu's show by changing gears from a drastically reworked "Hey Joe" and dedicating "Sunshine Of Your Love" to the recently split up Cream before getting the plug pulled on him. Among the other covers included in this two-disc set is a notable instrumental jam on "I Was Made To Love Her," featuring Stevie Wonder on drums. More than any other recording up to this point, BBC SESSIONS shows the Jimi Hendrix Experience at its most bright-eyed and vibrant.


Rolling Stone (7/9-23/98, p.134) - 4 Stars (out of 5) - "...It's damned exciting to hear Hendrix playing so passionately in 1967, before the world officially cared. All of the essential trademarks--the bold-as-life melodies, the roaring backbeats informed by the blues--are present..."


Recording Type: n/a

Check These Out



899 points Redeem Now >