Peter Tosh

In Stock
Usually ships within 2 days

1,598 points

Want a better price? Log In to see if there’s a deal.


Genre: Reggae
Artist/Group Name: Peter Tosh
Release Date: 06/21/2011
Original Release Date: 1976
Length of CD: 140:3
Label: Columbia (USA)
# of Discs: 2
Total Time: 140:3

Disc 1
1. Legalize It
2. Burial
3. What'cha Gonna Do?
4. No Sympathy
5. Why Must I Cry
6. Igziabeher (Let Jah Be Praised)
7. Ketchy Shuby
8. Till Your Well Runs Dry
9. Brand New Second Hand
10. Legalize It [Demo] - (previously unreleased)
11. No Sympathy [Demo] - (previously unreleased)
12. Why Must I Cry [Demo] - (previously unreleased)
13. Igziabeher (Let Jah Be Praised) [Demo] - (previously unreleased)
14. Ketchy Shuby [Demo] - (previously unreleased)
15. Till Your Well Runs Dry [Demo] - (previously unreleased)
16. Brand New Second Hand [Demo] - (previously unreleased)

Disc 2
1. Legalize It - (previously unreleased)
2. Burial - (previously unreleased)
3. What'cha Gonna Do? - (previously unreleased)
4. No Love, No Sympathy - (previously unreleased)
5. Why Must I Cry - (previously unreleased)
6. Igziabeher (Let Jah Be Praised) - (previously unreleased)
7. Ketchy Shuby - (previously unreleased)
8. Till Your Well Runs Dry - (previously unreleased)
9. Brand New Second Hand - (previously unreleased)
10. Legalize It [Alternate Version] - (previously unreleased)
11. Burial [Dub Version1] - (previously unreleased)
12. What'cha Gonna Do? [ShaJahShoka Dub Plate] - (remix)
13. Igziabeher (Let Jah Be Praised) [ShaJahShoka Dub Plate] - (remix, previously unreleased)
14. Second Hand [ShaJahShoka Dub Plate] - (remix)
15. Burial [Dub Version 2] - (previously unreleased)
16. Legalize It [Dub Version] - (previously unreleased)

Release Notes

Personnel: Peter Tosh (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Al Anderson, Donald Kinsey (guitar); Robbie & Ras Lee (harp); Tyrone Downey (keyboards); Aston "Family Man" Barrett, Robbie Shakespeare (bass); Carlton Barrett, Santa (drums); Rita Marley, Judy Mowatt, Bunny Wailer (background vocals).
Recorded in 1976. Includes liner notes by Roger Steffens.
Personnel: Peter Tosh (guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Al Anderson (guitar); Ras Lee, Robbie Shakespeare (harp); Tyrone Downie (keyboards); Carlton Barrett (drums); Judy Mowatt, Rita Marley, Bunny Wailer (background vocals).
Liner Note Authors: Lee Jaffe; Roger Steffens.
Photographers: Adrian Boot; Lee Jaffe.
Arranger: Peter Tosh.
After spending 12 years as a member of Bob Marley's Wailers, Peter Tosh was eager to break free from the shadow of the legendary frontman. In 1976, he released LEGALIZE IT, still one of the most significant albums in the history of reggae. The title track expresses one of Tosh's many political causes, justifying the legalization of marijuana as a remedy for various medical ailments. "Burial" is one of several tracks that features the talents of the Wailers' stand-out lead guitarist, Al Anderson.
Tosh adds his own seasoning to the reggae pot as he incorporates keyboards in "Whatcha Gonna Do" and synthesizers and sound effects on "Igziabeher." "Ketchy Shuby," a sing-along about fooling around, features the background vocal talents of Rita Marley, Bunny Wailer, and Judy Mowatt. Tosh's life ended too early, and LEGALIZE IT is the strongest testament to his legacy. Take a listen, and share the spirit of his genius.


Spin (p.80) - "On 1976's LEGALIZE IT, he brashly mixed pro-ganja agitprop and Rasta musings..."<BR>Uncut (p.84) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]here are some appealing, rare dub plates..."<BR>CMJ (7/19/99, pp.27,35) - "...among the most crucial reggae albums ever released....LEGALIZE IT prevails to this day as one of the all-time great stoner records, due to its rabidly expressive advocation of the spiritual and mystical wonders of ganja..."<BR>Mojo (Publisher) (p.120) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The sublime LEGALIZE IT predominantly showcases his spiritual and mischievous aspects, though even here an inescapable melancholy pervades."


Recording Type: n/a

Check These Out



899 points Redeem Now >