Julio Iglesias

In Stock
Usually ships within 2 days

2,198 points

Want a better price? Log In to see if there’s a deal.


Genre: International
Artist/Group Name: Julio Iglesias
Release Date: 04/09/2013
Original Release Date: 2011
Length of CD: 147:47
Label: Columbia (USA)
# of Discs: 3
Total Time: 147:47

Disc 1
1. Begin the Beguine
2. Crazy
3. When I Need You
4. Vincent (Starry, Starry Night)
5. 99 Miles from L.A.
6. And I Love Her
7. Always On My Mind
8. Crazy in Love
9. Fragile - (featuring Sting)
10. To All the Girls I've Loved Before - (featuring Willie Nelson)
11. All of You - (featuring Diana Ross)
12. My Love
13. When You Tell Me That You Love Me - (featuring Dolly Parton)
14. Summer Wind - (featuring Frank Sinatra)
15. Let It Be Me - (featuring Art Garfunkel)
16. As Time Goes By - (featuring Stephanie Spruill)
17. Se Ora Avessi Un Po' Di Te (Uno)
18. Dizem Que Os Homens Nao Devem Chorar
19. Vie Defile en Silence, La (Como Han Pasado Los Anos)

Disc 2
1. Hey
2. Por el Amor de Una Mujer
3. Me Va, Me Va
4. Un Canto a Galicia
5. Dia Que Me Quieras, El
6. Me Olvide de Vivir
7. Corazon Partio
8. De Nina a Mujer
9. Carretera, La
10. Amor, Amor, Amor
11. Derroche
12. Cumparsita, La
13. Nathalie
14. Caballo Viejo/Bamboleo
15. Amor, El
16. Caruso
17. Devaneios (O Me Quieres o Me Dejas)
18. Quelque Chose de France

Disc 3
1. Volver a Empezar [Begin the Beguine]
2. Amor, Amor, Amor
3. To All the Girls I've Loved Before
4. Too Many Women
5. Paloma, La
6. Brazilian Medley: The Girl from Ipanema/Desafinado
7. If You Go Away [Ne Me Quitte Pas]
8. 99 Miles from L.A.
9. When I Need You
10. Bamboleo
11. Moonlight Lady
12. Pensami (J?rame)
13. Hey!
14. Mona Lisa
15. Ae, Ao
16. Can't Help Falling in Love

Release Notes

Personnel: Dan Warner, Davey Johnstone , Dean Parks, Miguel Varela, Rayito, Michael Thompson , Michael Landau, Rene Toledo (guitar); Tim Devine , Juli?n Navarro (strings, piano, keyboards, synthesizer); Stevie Wonder, Tommy Morgan (harmonica); Enrique Martinez (accordion); Ed Calle, Tom Scott, Tony Concepcion, Dana Teboe (brass); Alberto Estebanez (piano, keyboards, synthesizer, programming); Dan Kuramoto, David Paich, Jon Gilutin, Lester Mendez, Kim Cornwell, Michael Orta, Michel Colombier, Rafael Ferro, Robbie Buchanan, Steve Porcaro, Tom Keane, Randy Kerber, David Foster (piano, keyboards, synthesizer); John "J.R." Robinson , Jeff Porcaro, Lee Levin , Tris Imboden, Carlos Vega (drums); Michael Fisher, Daniel Lopez (percussion); Julian Navarro, Reynerio Perez, Rhett Lawrence (programming).
Audio Mixers: Laura Livingston; Alberto S?nchez; Eric Schilling ; Humberto Gatica; Karen Siegel; Darren Klein; Carlos Alvarez ; Mick Guzauski; Julio Iglesias; Carlos Nieto.
Arrangers: Alberto Estebanez; Juli?n Navarro; Manuel Alejandro; Rafael Ferro; Ram?n Arcusa; Robbie Buchanan; Roberto Livi; Jorge Calandrelli; Julio Iglesias.
Having recently declared that he's in far better voice than he was in his '70s/'80s heyday, romantic crooner Julio Iglesias gets to put his money where his mouth is on this alternative greatest-hits collection, Vol. 1. His first studio release since 2007's Quelque Chose de France sees Spain's most successful musical export revisit 15 of his most cherished songs from his enduring 40-year career, with tracks spanning from 1973's Un Canto a Galicia (the title track) right up to 2006's Romantic Classics (a Spanish-language version of Elvis' "Always on My Mind"). But other than the inevitable maturity in Iglesias' voice and a slightly glossier production, there's little variation between the originals and the new recordings, which, with the exception of the breezy Gallic lounge-pop of "As Vezes Tu, As Vezes Eu," stick to his trademark orchestral and flamenco-tinged chansons. While renditions of Leo Sayer's "When I Need You," Elvis' "I Can't Help Falling in Love" ("So Voce Vai, Me Fazer Feliz"), and Stevie Wonder duet "My Love" will be familiar even to those who now associate the Iglesias name more with his son Enrique, the rest of the track list is more notable for its omissions than its inclusions, with U.K. number one "Begin the Beguine," his U.S. hit collaborations with Diana Ross and Willie Nelson, and his breakthrough Eurovision entry, "Gwendolyne," all conspicuous by their absence. Presumably, these signature hits will appear on later volumes, a risky strategy that appears to have paid off judging by its chart-topping success in his homeland, but this competent yet unremarkable set of "reworkings" doesn't exactly whet the appetite for any future releases. ~ Jon O'Brien


Recording Type: n/a

Check These Out



899 points Redeem Now >