George Winston

In Stock
Usually ships within 2 days

898 points

Want a better price? Log In to see if there’s a deal.


Genre: New Age
Artist/Group Name: George Winston
Release Date: 10/12/2004
Original Release Date: 2004
Length of CD: 54:14
Label: Windham Hill Records
# of Discs: 1
Total Time: 54:14

Disc 1
1. Thumbelina
2. Billy in the Low Land
3. Valse Frontenac
4. Little House I Used to Live In, The
5. Montana Glide
6. Nevertheless, Hello
7. Twisting of the Hay Rope, The (Casadh an tS?g?in)
8. Joy, Hope, and Peace
9. You Send Me
10. High Plains Lullaby
11. Mountain Winds Call Your Name, The
12. Music Box (Kojo No Tsuki)
13. Raining in Her (The Muse)
14. (Variations On) Bamboo
15. Goodnight Irene
16. Sweet Soul (G?bajie)
17. Sky (Goobajie)

Release Notes

Personnel: George Winston (piano).
Recording information: Sheridan Opera House, Telluride, CO.
George Winston has traveled far and wide since his early days working with mentor John Fahey. MONTANA: A LOVE STORY is part portraiture and part exploration into the sonic possibilities of the piano. This biographical sketch takes the listener through various signposts of Winston's past. "High Plains Lullaby" is a delicate pastoral rumination, while "The Mountain Winds Call Your Name" features imaginative flourishes that create images of the plains and open country. In addition to Winston's own compositions, the record also includes interpretations of traditional songs and the works of Sam Cooke, Leadbelly, and (oddly enough) Frank Zappa. George Winston's familiar sound is apparent throughout MONTANA: A LOVE STORY, making long-time admirers feel right at home. In equal measure, Winston summons expressive asides and forays into dissonance that are challenging, but always riveting, as the repertoire of this self-described "rural folk pianist" expands.


New Age Retailer (Vol. 19, No. 2, p.71) - "[I]mpresses listeners once again..."


Recording Type: n/a

Check These Out



899 points Redeem Now >