Any Given Thursday

John Mayer

In Stock
Usually ships within 2 days

1,198 points

Want a better price? Log In to see if there’s a deal.


Genre: Rock & Pop
Artist/Group Name: John Mayer
Release Date: 02/11/2003
Original Release Date: 2003
Label: Sony Music Distribution (USA)
# of Discs: 1

Disc 1
1. 3x5
2. No Such Thing
3. Back To You
4. City Love
5. Something's Missing
6. Lenny/Man On The Side
7. Message In A Bottle
8. Love Song For No One
9. Why Georgia
10. Your Body Is A Wonderland
11. My Stupid Mouth
12. Covered In Rain
13. 83
14. Comfortable
15. Neon

Release Notes

Recorded in September of 2002 in Birmingham, AL, John Mayer's Any Given Thursday DVD chronicles a day in the life of his tour. Mayer's juxtaposition between being a musician and a personality is blurred most during his live shows. Is he the consummate guitar hero exemplified when he plays a cover of Stevie Ray Vaughan's "Lenny," or is he the teen idol that the pubescent girls shriek for after he plays "Your Body Is a Wonderland"? Regardless of your perception, there is no denying that he possesses the ability to satisfy every audience member. After a smattering of songs from Room for Squares, he dismisses his bandmates and gets back to his early days as a solo performer. This is where Mayer proves that he is more than the sum of radio hits that have elevated him into the larger venues. Launching into an acoustic version of the Police's "Message in a Bottle," he makes this song his own. Any Given Thursday will definitely give you a new respect for Mayer's ability to make his studio recordings come alive in a fresh new way. The bonus features include a look at the soundcheck and an interview with Mayer the day after the show, where he presents a consciousness about his music that is gnostic beyond his years. The most intriguing bonus feature on the DVD is the commentary by Mayer. It's not often that you get a play-by-play of a performer's thought process while he is on-stage. He lends his perspective on everything from the quirky faces he makes while singing to the reasons for his set list. This commentary alone is worth the price of the DVD. ~ Erik Crawford


Recording Type: n/a

Check These Out



899 points Redeem Now >