Ellington At Newport 1956 (Complete)

Duke Ellington

In Stock
Usually ships within 2 days

1,598 points

Want a better price? Log In to see if there’s a deal.


Genre: Jazz Instrument
Artist/Group Name: Duke Ellington
Release Date: 05/11/1999
Original Release Date: 1999
Length of CD: 128:47
Label: Columbia (USA)
# of Discs: 2
Total Time: 128:47

Disc 1
1. Star Spangled Banner - (previously unreleased)
2. Father Norman O'Connor Introduces Duke & The Orchestra / Duke Introduces Tune & Anderson, Jackson, & Procope
3. Black and Tan Fantasy
4. Duke Introduces Cook & Tune
5. Tea For Two - (previously unreleased)
6. Duke & Band Leave Stage / Father Norman O'Connor Talks About Festival
7. Take the "A" Train
8. Duke Announces Strayhorn's A Train & Nance / Duke Introduces Festival Suite, Part I & Hamilton
9. Festival Junction - (previously unreleased)
10. Duke Announces Soloists; Introduces Part II
11. Blues to Be There - (previously unreleased)
12. Duke Announces Nance & Procope; Introduces Part III
13. Newport Up - (previously unreleased)
14. Duke Announces Hamilton, Gonsalves, & Terry / Duke Introduces Cook & Tune
15. Sophisticated Lady
16. Duke Announces Grissom & Tune
17. Day in, Day Out - (previously unreleased)
18. Duke Introduces Tune (s) And Paul Gonsalves Interludes
19. Diminuendo in Blue and Crescendo in Blue
20. Announcements, Pandemonium
21. Pause Track

Disc 2
1. Duke Introduces Johnny Hodges
2. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good) - (previously unreleased)
3. Jeep's Blues
4. Duke Calms Crowd; Introduces Nance & Tune
5. Tulip or Turnip - (previously unreleased)
6. Riot Prevention
7. Skin Deep
8. Mood Indigo - (previously unreleased)
9. Studio Concert - (excerpts)
10. Father Norman O'Connor Introduces Duke Ellington / Duke Introduces New Work, Part I, & Hamilton
11. Festival Junction
12. Duke Announces Soloists; Introduces Part II
13. Blues to Be There
14. Duke Announces Nance & Procope; Introduces Part III
15. Newport Up
16. Duke Announces Hamilton, Gonsalves, & Terry / Pause / Duke Introduces Johnny Hodges
17. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
18. Jeep's Blues - (previously unreleased)
19. Pause Track

Release Notes

Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Ray Nance (vocals, trumpet); Jimmy Grisson (vocals); Russell Procope (alto saxophone, clarinet); Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone); Paul Gonsalves (tenor saxophone); Jimmy Hamilton (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Harry Carney (baritone saxophone); John Cook, Clark Terry, William "Cat" Anderson (trumpet); John Sanders, Quentin Jackson, Britt Woodman (trombone); Jimmy Woode (bass); Sam Woodyard (drums).
Producer: George Avakian.
Reissue producer: Phil Schaap.
Recorded live at the Newport Jazz Festival, Newport, Rhode Island on July 7, 1956. Includes liner notes by George Avakian and Phil Schaap.
Digitally remastered by Phil Schaap (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
What makes this classic recording endure is the monumental level of intensity the band brings to each number. Ellington, in speaking of the band's competitive nature, recalled that they were all in a particularly fesity mode for this performance. That crackling energy translates to every number, and even extended to Count Basie's original drummer Jo Jones, who sat grinning from ear to ear in the front row, so moved by the swing of it all that he beat time for the band with a rolled up copy of The Christian Science Monitor.
From Johnny Hodges' ultra-suave "Jeep's Blues," to Paul Gonsalves' epic tenor marathon on "Diminuendo And Crescendo In Blue" (which set the crowd to dancing and screaming), ELLINGTON AT NEWPORT is one of the really great big band recordings.


Entertainment Weekly (6/24/99, p.133) - "...dizzying jazz, from the swinging orchestra suite composed for the festival to saxophonist Paul Gonsalvas' 27-chorus improvisation in "Diminuendo and Crescendo in Blue." - Rating: A<BR>Q (9/99, p.125) - 3 stars (out of 5) - "...one of the most famous of jazz concerts of all time...generally acknowledged to have put him back on the map after a period in the commercial doldrums....every fan will want a copy."<BR>JazzTimes (10/99, pp.82-4) - "...presents for the first time in true stereo every note that the band played at Newport over that famous weekend of July 7/8, 1956....To hear this classic performance in stereo...is alone worth the price of admission..."


Recording Type: AAD

Check These Out



499 points Redeem Now >