Johnny Cash

In Stock
Usually ships within 2 days

3,997 points

Want a better price? Log In to see if there’s a deal.


Genre: Oldies
Artist/Group Name: Johnny Cash
Release Date: 11/14/2006
Original Release Date: 1969
Length of CD: 99:41
Label: Columbia/Legacy
# of Discs: 3
Total Time: 99:41

Disc 1
1. Blue Suede Shoes - (previously unreleased)
2. Flowers on the Wall - (previously unreleased)
3. Last Thing on My Mind, The - (previously unreleased)
4. June Carter Cash Talks to the Audience - (previously unreleased)
5. Wildwood Flower - (previously unreleased)
6. Big River
7. I Still Miss Someone
8. Wreck of the Old 97
9. I Walk the Like
10. Medley: The Long Black Veil/Give My Love to Rose - (previously unreleased)
11. Folsom Prison Blues
12. Orange Blossom Special [#[
13. Jackson - (previously unreleased)
14. Darlin' Companion
15. Break My Mind - (previously unreleased)
16. I Don't Know Where I'm Bound
17. Starkville City Jail

Disc 2
1. San Quentin
2. San Quentin
3. Wanted Man
4. Restless - (previously unreleased)
5. Boy Named Sue, A
6. Blistered - (previously unreleased)
7. (There'll Be) Peace in the Valley
8. Outside Looking In, The - (previously unreleased)
9. Less of Me - (previously unreleased)
10. Ring of Fire
11. He Turned the Water into Wine
12. Daddy Sang Bass
13. Old Account Was Settled Long Ago, The
14. Closing Medley: Folsom Prison Blues/I Walk the Line/Ring of Fire/The Re

Disc 3
1. Bonus Material

Release Notes

Personnel: Johnny Cash (vocals, guitar); Johnny Cash; Mother Maybelle, Anita (vocals, guitar); Harold Reid, Lew DeWitt, Philip Balsley, The Statler Brothers, Don Reed (vocals); Marshall Grant (bass instrument); The Carter Family (vocals, guitar); Carl Perkins (vocals, electric guitar); June Carter Cash (vocals); Bob Wootton (electric guitar); W.S. Holland (drums).
Audio Mixers: Vic Anesini; Richard King .
Liner Note Authors: Johnny Cash; June Carter Cash; Sylvie Simmons; Marty Stuart; Bob Irwin; Lou Robin.
Recording information: San Quentin Prison (02/24/1969).
Photographer: Jim Marshall .
Arrangers: J.D. Cash; B. Johnson.
One of country music's unequivocal stars, Johnny Cash retained respect for the travails of the audience elevating him to that position. Recorded live at one of America's most notorious prisons, this album displays an empathy bereft of condescension and captures a performer combining charisma with natural ease. The material is balanced between established favorites and new material including "Wanted Man" (an unrecorded Bob Dylan song), and the lighthearted hit "A Boy Named Sue." It was not the first time Cash had recorded in a penal institution, but this appearance, at a time when American values were vociferously questioned, suggested the artist's rebelliousness had not dimmed.


Entertainment Weekly (p.97) - "[Cash was] all but inciting riots with his rockers and incendiary remarks, then calming the captives with hymns." -- Grade: A<BR>Q (p.126) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] gruff, no-frills performer with a voice like a bag of rusty nails scattering noisily over his career highlights."<BR>CMJ (6/19/00, p.32) - "...This beefed-up landmark release reissue contains nearly an album's worth of extra material..."<BR>Dirty Linen (p.56) - "[I]t is certainly the stuff of legend, and this expanded edition brings the drama and excitement of that evening back to life."


Recording Type: n/a

Check These Out



899 points Redeem Now >