Little Jimmy Dickens

In Stock
Usually ships within 2 days

798 points

Want a better price? Log In to see if there’s a deal.


Genre: Country
Artist/Group Name: Little Jimmy Dickens
Release Date: 04/11/2006
Original Release Date: 2006
Length of CD: 42:19
Label: Columbia/Legacy
# of Discs: 1
Total Time: 42:19

Disc 1
1. Take an Old Cold 'Tater (And Wait)
2. Country Boy
3. A-Sleepin' at the Foot of the Bed
4. My Heart's Bouquet
5. Just When I Needed You
6. Hillbilly Fever
7. I'm Little But I'm Loud
8. Rockin' with Red
9. You All Come
10. Out Behind the Barn
11. Salty Boogie
12. Take Me as I Am (Or Let Me Go)
13. We Could
14. (I Got) A Hole in My Pocket
15. Violet and a Rose, The
16. May the Bird of Paradise Fly Up Your Nose

Release Notes

Recording information: Nashville, TN (01/16/1949-03/04/1965).
This compilation of some of the beloved hillbilly country singer Little Jimmy Dickens' most popular songs is evidence that the diminutive entertainer has built his career not only on writing amusing and expertly constructed novelties, but also on recording some memorable country tracks, spanning the 1940s-vintage "Take an Old Cold Tater (And Wait)," the Hank Williams-flavored "Just When I Needed You," and the '60s smash "May the Bird of Paradise Fly Up Your Nose." There's also the classic rockabilly of "I Got a Hole in My Pocket," as well as the self-deprecating, semi-autobiographical "I'm Little (But I'm Loud)," making this best-of an exercise in unearthing a variety of undiscovered country music gems.


Recording Type: n/a

Check These Out



899 points Redeem Now >