Philadelphia Brass

In Stock
Usually ships within 2 days

798 points

Want a better price? Log In to see if there’s a deal.


Genre: Rock & Pop
Artist/Group Name: Philadelphia Brass
Release Date: 09/29/1986
Original Release Date: 1967
Length of CD: 41:34
Label: CBS Records
# of Discs: 1
Total Time: 41:34

Disc 1
1. Deck the Halls (Welsh)
2. Es ist ein Ros entsprungen (Lo, How A Rose E'er Blooming) (Alte geistliche Kirchenges?ng 1599)
3. Bring a Torch, Jeanette, Isabella ("Un flambeau, Jeanette, Isabelle")
4. First Nowell, The (English)
5. Angels We Have Heard on High
6. We Three Kings of Orient Are
7. O Come, All Ye Faithful (Adeste fidelis)
8. O Sanctissima
9. O Tannenbaum (O Christmas Tree) (German)
10. O come, O come, Emmanuel (Veni, veni, emmanuel), carol
11. Good King Wenceslas (Piae Cantiones, 1582)
12. Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Silent Night)
13. Joy to the World (theme by Handel)
14. Twelve Days of Christmas, The
15. Coventry Carol (2): "Lully, Lulla, Thou Little Tiny Child"
16. God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen (English)
17. Hark! the Herald Angels Sing (adapted by W. H. Cummings from Mendelssohn's Festgesang for the Gutenberg Festival)
18. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear
19. Good Christian Men, Rejoice
20. Cantique de No?l for voice & orchestra "O Holy Night"
21. What Child Is This? (Greensleeves)
22. Wassail Song ("Here We Come A-Wassailing"), carol
23. O Little Town of Bethlehem
24. Away in a Manger
25. We Wish You a Merry Christmas (English)

Release Notes

A Festival of Carols in Brass is the very definition of a Christmas "classic" -- since it was first issued in 1967 it has never gone out of print, and the recording remains the number one choice for brass-styled Christmas music played in shopping malls throughout the United States during the holiday season. This album by the Philadelphia Brass Ensemble contains 25 traditional carols that are arranged in a colorful but no-nonsense fashion. To vary the sound, the Philadelphia Brass Ensemble make use of differing instrumental combinations among the various players, even within a carol, in addition to sparing but tasteful application of mutes. As opposed to merely getting through a carol without mistakes and to everyone's satisfaction, the Philadelphia Brass Ensemble take the time to arrive at a blend of sound and work together on trying to make it as beautiful as possible, and it shows. CBS' analog recording, though well nigh approaching the age of 40 years, is bright, spacious, clear, and not dated. The Philadelphia Brass Ensemble was a leaderless group drawn from the brass section of the Philadelphia Orchestra. During this time, conductor Eugene Ormandy had the Philadelphia Orchestra extremely busy in the recording studios, waxing practically the entire major orchestral literature for CBS Masterworks. Once in a while the Philadelphia Brass Ensemble would get a chance to do something on its own, as long as Ormandy was aware of it and got a piece of the action. Ironically, A Festival of Carols in Brass has outsold practically all of the regular orchestral recordings made by the Philadelphia Orchestra in the 1960s. For some reason, Sony has never seen fit to upgrade the cover on the compact disc release of A Festival of Carols in Brass; it is still in the same stripped-down "longbox"-era type of package it has appeared in since the 1980s. It does not list the players who participated on this now historic recording. For the record, they are Gilbert Johnson and Seymour Rosenfeld, trumpets; Mason Jones, horn; Henry Charles Smith, trombone; Dee Stewart, euphonium; and Abe Torchinsky and Peter Krill, tubas. ~ Uncle Dave Lewis


Recording Type: n/a

Check These Out



899 points Redeem Now >